The Federalist Society is a membership organization that was founded in 1982 by a group of law students from Harvard, Yale, and the University of Chicago. Its primary mission is to promote and advance the principles of individual liberty, limited government, and the rule of law within the legal profession and broader public discourse. The Society is named after the Federalist Papers, a series of essays written by Alexander Hamilton, [[James Madison]], and John Jay, which argued in favor of adopting the United States [[Constitution]]. While the Federalist Society claims to be non-partisan, it is often associated with [[conservative]] and [libertarian]( legal thought. The organization seeks to foster discussion on important legal and policy issues, frequently hosting events, conferences, and debates featuring prominent legal scholars, practitioners, and judges. ## 3 Federalist Society divisions 1. **Student Division**: This division consists of chapters in law schools across the United States. It provides a forum for law students to engage in discussions and debates on legal issues and principles. Members often organize speaker events, panel discussions, and debates on their campuses. 2. **Lawyers Division**: This division is composed of practicing attorneys, judges, and other legal professionals. The Lawyers Division hosts events, conferences, and Continuing Legal Education (CLE) programs on various topics related to the law and legal policy. 3. **Faculty Division**: This division is made up of law professors who share the Federalist Society's commitment to its principles. The Faculty Division promotes scholarly research and discussion on legal issues through conferences, workshops, and publications. Although the Federalist Society does not take official positions on legal issues or endorse political candidates, its members and affiliated scholars have had a significant impact on American legal thought and policy. Many judges appointed to the federal judiciary, including a whopping 6 of the 9 current justices on [[The Supreme Court]], have been affiliated with the Federalist Society. The organization has played an influential role in shaping the judicial nominations and appointments process in the United States, particularly during [Republican administrations]( ## SCOTUS Federalist Society members Currently a full two-thirds of the bench on the highest court in the land came from this single, secretive organization wielding disproportionate power in Washington: 1. Brett Kavanaugh 2. Neil Gorsuch 3. [[Clarence Thomas]] 4. John Roberts 5. Samuel Alito 6. Amy Coney Barrett