The U.S. Senate is the upper chamber of the United States [[Congress]], the other being the [[House of Representatives]]. The Senate is composed of two senators from each state, regardless of the state's population size, for a total of 100 senators. This setup ensures each state has an equal voice in this chamber of Congress. Senators serve six-year terms, with one-third of the Senate seats up for election every two years, ensuring continuity as the entire body is never up for election at the same time. There are no term limits for senators. ## Leadership The Vice President of the United States serves as the President of the Senate but does not vote unless there's a tie. This position is mostly ceremonial, and the Vice President often delegates the role to a President pro tempore, who is usually the longest-serving member of the Senate's majority party. The real power in the Senate lies with the Majority Leader and Minority Leader, who are elected by members of their respective parties. The Majority Leader, in particular, shapes the Senate's legislative agenda. ## Powers and responsibilities The Senate has unique powers and responsibilities not held by the House. These include consenting to treaties as a precondition to their ratification and consenting to U.S. presidential appointments including Cabinet secretaries, federal judges, and ambassadors. The Senate also tries federal officials impeached by the House. In the case of the impeachment of a president, the Chief Justice of [[The Supreme Court]] presides, and conviction requires a two-thirds majority of senators present. ## Committees Like the House, the Senate also divides its tasks among committees and subcommittees. There are currently 16 standing committees, with several more select and special committees. These committees review legislation and oversee the executive branch. ## Historical significance The Senate was designed to give each state an equal voice in the legislative process, in contrast to the House, which represents the population ([somewhat]( proportionally. The balance of power between the Senate and House, and the unique responsibilities of each, are fundamental aspects of the federal system of government in the United States.